One Voice

I voted today.

I was number 387 at my precinct. I stood in line behind an 18 year old young man who was excited to vote in his very first election.

I don’t know your politics or leanings. It’s such a volatile thing, politics … polarizing at times. Anger and strong opinions abound.

Myself, I like exploring different viewpoints and enjoy a good discussion. I listen to others ideas when it comes to the leadership of my country. I ask for their thoughts … even ask for some perspective from individuals whose opinions and knowledge I truly respect.   I learn from people who don’t necessarily think exactly like me. They offer ideas I might not have access to. See, I like to consider everything before I take pen to paper.

But as I looked at the extensive list of candidates today, only a few were truly familiar to me. I’m not sure that means others on that list weren’t capable or worthy of a party nomination. They just didn’t command the press and airways the way others did.

And, I didn’t spend much time reviewing their politics and plans I’m afraid.

I struggle with elections. I honestly don’t know if it matters … my vote. At times I don’t know if it makes a difference who wins or gets kicked to the curb. I haven’t seen much change for the better during my voting years. It concerns me deeply.

Anthony-Susan-004But, I voted. I voted because there were women a hundred years ago who couldn’t and who fought the fight, went to jail, and endured hardships and cruelty because they wanted to have a voice.

Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton began working to give me the right to voice my opinion on this country’s leadership in the mid-1800s. Anthony never did get to see the passing of the 19th Amendment. But women like Alice Paul. Ida B. Wells and Emmeline Pankhurst continued her mission, leading protest marches, picketing the White House, and causing more than a few riots before President Woodrow Wilson changed his position to support the amendment in 1918.

On May 21, 1919, the House of Representatives passed the amendment, and 2 weeks later, the Senate followed.

So, I voted today. My voice was heard. It’s on record now.

It’s important to speak and know that we are heard. And as I watch political commercials and read up on the candidates and their positions and plans for my country, I wonder if I made a difference today. I wonder what’s next for the US of A.

I have a sticker. I have a voice. It may be a small female voice, but it has power. And thanks to some amazing women, it gets to be heard. Someone asked my opinion. So … I gave it. I voted.

I feel empowered. I made the most of the 19th Amendment and my right as a citizen of this country. And, once I did, I felt a smile light my face and a spring in my step as I left Precinct 4.

One voice. My voice. The 387th voice in Precinct 4.

                                                                                                                      — Jenni

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

